Product comparisons · source links · assessment basis disclosed
Mushroom coffee reviews you can actually check.
We compare published ingredient amounts, caffeine, testing documents and product availability. For Brewlune, we compare the listed formula, caffeine estimates and direct-order pricing without inventing a taste score.
Fall 2026: fall mushroom coffee product comparison
- Brands compared
- 26
- Readers every month
- 120K+
- Head-to-heads
- 22
- Updates
- Weekly
Our top picks for 2026
Ranked from 26 brands on taste, ingredient quality, label transparency, cost per cup, lab verification and actual mushroom content.
#1 · 3.4 / 5
Best overallRYZE
RYZE mushroom coffee is the safest first mushroom coffee: smooth, cheap per cup at $1.20, organic and easy to find at Target, with 48 mg caffeine. But it discloses only a 2,000 mg six-mushroom blend total, with no per-mushroom doses, so you can't tell how much lion's mane you're actually getting, and we found no published COA.
$36.00 · $1.20/serving · 48 mg caffeine
Check price at RYZE →We may earn a commission, at no cost to you.
#2 · 3.8 / 5
Most transparentFour Sigmatic
Four Sigmatic mushroom coffee (Think) is the most transparent mushroom coffee on the market: 250 mg lion's mane and 250 mg chaga fruiting-body extract, disclosed per cup, with 50 mg caffeine and third-party testing. The trade-off is price, at a premium $1.90 per serving for the instant packets, and only two mushrooms, with no cordyceps in the Think line.
$18.99 · $1.90/serving · 50 mg caffeine
Check price at Four Sigmatic →We may earn a commission, at no cost to you.
#3 · 3.8 / 5
Smoothest caffeineEveryday Dose
Everyday Dose mushroom coffee (Coffee+) is one of the smoothest-drinking 'focus' blends thanks to L-theanine and collagen, with fruiting-body lion's mane and chaga and 45 mg caffeine per cup. At about $1.50 per cup you are paying for the stack, not the mushroom dose: the two mushrooms are not broken out per species on the label.
$45.00 · $1.50/serving · 45 mg caffeine
Check price at Everyday Dose →We may earn a commission, at no cost to you.
Is mushroom coffee right for you?
It isn't for everyone. A straight breakdown of who tends to like it and who should pass.
✓ You'll probably like it if you're…
- Sensitive to regular coffee
- Most blends carry 30–60 mg of caffeine, about half a brewed cup — the jitters and the crash shrink with the dose.
- Chasing sharper focus
- Lion's mane is the best-studied mushroom for cognition. The trials used far more than a cup delivers, so pick a blend that states its dose and drink it daily.
- Trying to keep the ritual while cutting back
- A hot, dark, roasted cup at a fraction of the caffeine is the most reliable thing mushroom coffee offers.
✕ Might not be worth it if you're…
- Watching your budget
- Blends run $0.37–$1.90 a serving. Home-brewed coffee is $0.15–0.40.
- After a big caffeine hit
- Our brands range 0–150 mg, and most sit under 60. A brewed cup is about 95 mg.
- Allergic to mushrooms, pregnant, or on medication
- Skip it with a fungal allergy, and talk to a clinician first if you're pregnant, breastfeeding, or on blood thinners or glucose-lowering drugs.
Our testing process
Our tasting protocol calls for retail samples and recorded observations. Specification reviews use published product information, not sensory testing. Brewlune has no documented tasting record and is unscored.
01
Taste
Prepared to the label, tasted black on days 1, 7 and 14. Would we drink it every morning?
02
Ingredients
Fruiting body vs. mycelium, organic status, sweeteners and fillers.
03
Label honesty
Per-mushroom milligrams, part used, beta-glucan figures, supply chain.
04
Cost per cup
One-time price divided by servings; subscription noted, not used.
05
Lab verification
Published certificates of analysis for heavy metals and contaminants.
06
Actual mushroom content
Stated dose against the dose used in the research — or a token sprinkle.
🔒 We turn down free products and paid reviews, and affiliate links never change a score. Read the full methodology.
Get to know the mushrooms
What each one is actually studied for, and the dose those studies used — so you can read a label with a number in mind.
| Mushroom | Studied for | Dose in human studies |
|---|---|---|
| Lion's Mane | Mild cognitive impairment · Mood and anxiety · Nerve growth factor (in vitro) | 1,000–3,000 mg/day |
| Cordyceps | Exercise tolerance and VO2 max · Fatigue in older adults | 1,000–4,000 mg/day |
| Reishi | Fatigue and quality of life · Immune markers · Sleep (animal data only) | 1,400–5,400 mg/day of extract |
| Chaga | Antioxidant activity (in vitro) · Immune markers (animal) | No completed human RCTs |
| Turkey Tail | Immune support as an adjunct in cancer care (PSK/PSP extracts) · Gut microbiome (small pilot) | ~3,000 mg/day of PSK extract |
| Tremella | Subjective cognitive decline (one small trial) · Skin hydration (cosmetic, topical) | 600 mg/day extract (single small trial) |
Best mushroom coffee for…
Popular head-to-heads
The comparisons readers open most.
- RYZE vs MUD\WTRTrending
RYZE vs MUD\WTR: RYZE is the better buy for most people because it is actual coffee at $1.20 a cup versus $1.67, while MUD\WTR is a four-mushroom cacao chai with no coffee in it. MUD\WTR only wins if you want to leave coffee behind and know your per-mushroom dose.
- BrewLune vs Everyday DoseTrending
Brewlune Dawn Patrol lists four mushroom extracts and estimated 48 mg caffeine; Everyday Dose Coffee+ mild lists 45 mg caffeine, two mushrooms, collagen and L-theanine. Brewlune is sold direct and discloses individual mushroom amounts. Everyday Dose links a public mild-coffee COA. Those are concrete differences; we have no documented Brewlune taste comparison.
- RYZE vs Four Sigmatic
RYZE vs Four Sigmatic: RYZE is the better daily cup because it is smoother and cheaper — buy it if you want an easy everyday mushroom coffee. Buy Four Sigmatic instead if you want to know exactly how much lion's mane you are drinking, since it is the only one of the two that says.
- RYZE vs BrewLune
RYZE medium roast and Brewlune Dawn Patrol both list 48 mg caffeine per serving, with Brewlune’s figure a recipe estimate. RYZE names six mushroom species without individual amounts; Brewlune lists four species separately, totaling 1,500 mg. Brewlune is sold direct. Compare ingredients, price and testing documents without assuming a taste winner.
- Four Sigmatic vs VitaCup
Four Sigmatic vs VitaCup: VitaCup is the better pick on the numbers, with twice the stated lion's mane at 500 mg, a lower price at $1.50 a cup against $1.90, and a full 110 mg of caffeine. Four Sigmatic is the pick if you want organic coffee and a mushroom coffee without added vitamins.
- RYZE vs Pella Nutrition
RYZE vs Pella Nutrition: Pella Nutrition is the better buy on the numbers — a third of RYZE's price, seven organic mushrooms with fruiting-body and testing claims — but RYZE is the better-tasting cup. Choose Pella if you drink mushroom coffee for the mushrooms and RYZE if you drink it for the coffee.
Real ways people use it
| Who | What they're solving | Blend that fits |
|---|---|---|
| Desk workers | The afternoon slump and back-to-back meetings. | Lion's mane blend at 45–50 mg caffeine → |
| Athletes and runners | A real caffeine dose plus daily cordyceps. | 100 mg+ caffeine with stated cordyceps → |
| People cutting back on coffee | Keep the ritual, drop the dependency. | Under 50 mg caffeine → |
| Anyone whose sleep is suffering | Caffeine that lingers into the night. | Decaf or near-decaf blends → |
| Students and creatives | Long stretches of deep work without the edge. | Lion's mane-forward, moderate caffeine → |
| Coffee snobs | Something that still tastes like coffee. | Black, nothing added → |
Find the right blend for you
Four questions, matched against our test data.
Question 1 of 4
How much caffeine do you want per cup?
See what you'd save
Monthly cost and daily caffeine against your current habit.
Right now: $21/month and 190 mg caffeine a day.
| Switch to | Monthly cost | Difference | Daily caffeine |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dead Point | $84 | +$63 | 300 mg |
| Everyday Dose | $90 | +$69 | 90 mg |
| Four Sigmatic | $114 | +$93 | 100 mg |
| Shroomi | $92 | +$71 | 160 mg |
| Spacegoods | $98 | +$77 | 240 mg |
| VitaCup | $90 | +$69 | 220 mg |
Why try mushroom coffee? What the research actually says
Functional mushrooms have a long history in traditional medicine. Here is where the modern evidence stands — and where it stops.
| Benefit people want | What's behind it |
|---|---|
| Sharper focus | Lion's mane improved cognitive scores in a 16-week trial at 3 g/day; the effect faded after stopping. Coffee doses are a fraction of that, so the caffeine and any L-theanine are what you feel first. |
| Steadier energy | Cordyceps improved exercise tolerance at 1–4 g/day over three weeks — a daily-habit effect, not a stimulant. The lower, steadier caffeine is the immediate difference. |
| Lower stress | Reishi's calming reputation comes from tradition and animal data; there is no human trial at coffee doses. Drinking half the caffeine is the more plausible reason you feel calmer. |
| Immune support | Turkey tail and chaga evidence comes from purified extracts at gram doses in clinical settings. Chaga also carries a documented oxalate risk for kidneys. |
Every brand we've tested
| Brand | Score | $/serving | Caffeine | Per-species amounts / serving | Part used | Format | Testing availability | Product availability | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dead Point | 3.9 | $1.40 | 150 mg | cordyceps: 1000 mg; lions mane: 1000 mg | fruiting body | instant | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Dead Point — SEND product pageDead Point — Testing and COA ledgerHirsch KR et al. (2017), Cordyceps militaris and high-intensity exercise toleranceMori K et al. (2009), Hericium erinaceus and mild cognitive impairment |
| Everyday DoseCoffee+ mild | 3.8 | $1.50 | 45 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed | fruiting body | instant | Public Coffee+ mild COA linked by brand; not matched to a purchased batch | Marketed product with a live brand listing; verify stock and delivery with the seller | Everyday Dose Coffee+ mild product listingEveryday Dose Coffee+ COAEveryday Dose Coffee+ product pageBevNET (Aug 2026) — Everyday Dose expands into Sam's Club, appoints CEO |
| Four SigmaticThink / Focus instant packets | 3.8 | $1.90 | 50 mg | lions mane: 250 mg; chaga: 250 mg250 mg each is the previously recorded Think formulation. The current Focus listing confirms species and 50 mg caffeine but does not state these amounts in accessible text; check the current pack. | fruiting body | instant, ground, pods | Brand claims third-party testing; a matching batch COA was not verified in this comparison | Marketed product with a live brand listing; verify stock and delivery with the seller | Four Sigmatic Focus instant packetsFour Sigmatic Think Organic Coffee product pageMori K et al. (2009) Hericium erinaceus and mild cognitive impairment |
| Shroomi | 3.8 | $1.54 | 80 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed; total blend 667 mg | fruiting body | ground | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Shroomi Medium Roast Nicaragua product pageShroomi Half Decaf Peru product page |
| Spacegoods | 3.7 | $1.63 | 120 mg | lions mane: 1000 mg; cordyceps: 1000 mg; chaga: 1000 mg | fruiting body | instant | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Spacegoods Rainbow Dust product pageSpacegoods Rainbow Dust Starter Kit page |
| VitaCup | 3.6 | $1.50 | 110 mg | lions mane: 500 mg; chaga: 250 mg | fruiting body | pods, instant, ground | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | VitaCup Focus Coffee Pods product pageVitaCup Focus Instant Coffee Packets product page |
| Wunderground Coffee | 3.5 | $1.67 | 90 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed; total blend 5000 mg | fruiting body | instant, whole bean, ready to drink | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Wunderground Brain Wash Craft Instant Mushroom Coffee product pageWunderground Coffee homepage |
| RYZEMedium-roast instant | 3.4 | $1.20 | 48 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; turkey tail: not disclosed; shiitake: not disclosed; king trumpet: not disclosed; total blend 2000 mg | undisclosed | instant | Brand testing claims; public batch COA not verified in this comparison | Marketed product with a live brand listing; verify stock and delivery with the seller | RYZE medium-roast product listingRYZE Mushroom Coffee product pageForbes (Jan 2026) — Mushroom Coffee Maker Ryze Could Be The Next Billion-Dollar Drink |
| Laird Superfood | 3.3 | $0.59 | 100 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; maitake: not disclosed; total blend 500 mg | fruiting body | ground, whole bean, pods | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Laird Superfood PERFORM Medium Roast Ground product pageLaird Superfood Functional Mushroom Coffee K-Cups product page |
| Lucid | 3.3 | $1.33 | 45 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; tremella: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; turkey tail: not disclosed; total blend 2000 mg | fruiting body | instant | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Lucid Nootropic+Mushroom Coffee product pageLucid homepage |
| Om Mushroom Superfood | 3.3 | $1.33 | 120 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; total blend 2000 mg | both | instant | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Om Mushroom Coffee Superfood product pageOm Mushroom Superfood — How much caffeine is in mushroom coffee? |
| Peak State Coffee | 3.3 | $1.36 | 95 mg* | lions mane: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; total blend 500 mg | fruiting body | whole bean, ground | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Peak State Brain Sustain Light Roast (Ethiopia) product pagePeak State Coffee With Benefits collection |
| Pella Nutrition | 3.3 | $0.37 | 90 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; shiitake: not disclosed; maitake: not disclosed; turkey tail: not disclosed; total blend 1500 mg | fruiting body | instant | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Pella Nutrition Mushroom Coffee (Regular Caffeine, 60 Cups) Amazon listingPella Nutrition homepageEvident Health — Pella Nutrition Mushroom Coffee review |
| Shyne Coffee | 3.3 | $1.73 | 70 mg | lions mane: 500 mg | both | instant | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Shyne Lion's Mane Coffee (30 cups) product pageShyne Coffee homepage |
| La República Superfoods | 3.1 | $0.74 | 70 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; maitake: not disclosed; shiitake: not disclosed; turkey tail: not disclosed | fruiting body | instant, ground | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | La República Instant Mushroom Coffee (35 servings) product pageLa República Ground Mushroom Coffee 12 oz product page |
| Live Conscious Beyond Brew | 3.0 | $1.30 | 5 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; turkey tail: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed; total blend 522 mg | undisclosed | latte mix | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Live Conscious Beyond Brew product page |
| Melting Forest | 3.0 | $0.67 | 50 mg* | chaga: not disclosed; lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; maitake: not disclosed; shiitake: not disclosed; turkey tail: not disclosed | fruiting body | instant | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Melting Forest Mushroom Coffee — Adaptogenic Instant Coffee product pageMelting Forest all-products collectionMelting Forest homepage |
| Sun Alchemy by Terrasoul | 3.0 | $1.25* | 110 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; total blend 1000 mg | undisclosed | instant | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Sun Alchemy Mushroom Coffee Energize, 12 Sachets — Amazon listingTerrasoul Mushrooms & Adaptogens collection |
| Bulletproof (The Mood Booster) | 2.9 | $0.79* | 95 mg* | lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed | undisclosed | ground | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Bulletproof The Mood Booster Mushroom Ground Coffee product pageBulletproof homepage — The Mood Booster launchBulletproof Mood Booster Mushroom Coffee Grounds 10 oz — Amazon listing |
| Grateful Earth | 2.9 | $1.85 | 50 mg | lions mane: 250 mg; chaga: 250 mg | fruiting body | instant | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Grateful Earth Super Brain Blend medium roast product pageGrateful Earth FAQ |
| MUD\WTR | 2.9 | $1.67 | 35 mg | lions mane: 560 mg; chaga: 560 mg; reishi: 560 mg; cordyceps: 560 mg; total blend 2240 mg | both | latte mix | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | MUD\WTR Original 30-serving tin product pageMUD\WTR Coffee (Rise 2.0) pageMUD\WTR Coffee Refill Bag (30 servings) product page |
| Renude Chagaccino | 2.9 | $1.67 | 0 mg | chaga: 500 mg | undisclosed | latte mix | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Renude Chagaccino product page |
| Atlas Coffee Club (Atlas+) | 2.7 | $1.36 | 45 mg | lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed | fruiting body | instant, latte mix | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Atlas+ Mushroom Coffee collection pageAtlas+ Superblend product pageAtlas+ Mushroom Coffee Superblend 28 Servings — Amazon listing |
| Peak Performance | 2.6 | $1.50 | 100 mg* | lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; cordyceps: not disclosed; turkey tail: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed | undisclosed | pods, ground | Brand claims third-party testing; batch COA not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Peak Performance Organic Mushroom Coffee Pods product pagePeak Performance — Best Organic Mushroom Coffee Blends (brand blog) |
| Ylva Blends | 2.3 | $0.83* | 40 mg* | lions mane: not disclosed; reishi: not disclosed; chaga: not disclosed; maitake: not disclosed; shiitake: not disclosed | undisclosed | instant | Testing documentation not verified in this comparison | Product listing linked; live stock not checked | Mushroom Coffee for Women by Ylva Blends — Amazon listing (ASIN B0F74MNX7Y)Keurig Coffee Blog — best mushroom coffee for menopause |
| BrewLuneDawn Patrol | Unscored | $1.13 | 48 mg* | lions mane: 500 mg (recipe est.); cordyceps: 400 mg (recipe est.); chaga: 300 mg (recipe est.); reishi: 300 mg (recipe est.) | fruiting body | instant | Public finished-product batch COA not verified; supplier specifications are not batch reports | Sold direct at brewlune.com; the product page says orders ship from California. Check the seller for delivery timing. | BrewLune — Dawn Patrol product pageBrewLune — Mushroom coffee dosage comparisonBrewLune — Lab testing and verificationBrewLune — How much caffeine is in mushroom coffeeBrewLune — Point Break product pageBrewLune — Glassy product pageBrewLune — Pumpkin Spice product page (seasonal)BrewLune — Last Light product pageBrewLune — Pricing |
* estimate — recipe/planning figure or an unverified estimate; see the review. Brand statements and supplier specifications are not finished-product batch COAs. Sources apply to the named product, not every blend.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best mushroom coffee in 2026?
For most people, RYZE: smooth, organic, $1.20 per cup and sold in Target. Four Sigmatic is the pick if you want per-mushroom doses printed on the label, Brewlune is sold direct and discloses each mushroom amount; our review assesses its published specifications without a taste score. Our full ranking breaks it down by goal, budget and format.
What is mushroom coffee?
Regular coffee — usually instant or ground — blended with powdered extracts of functional mushrooms such as lion's mane, chaga, cordyceps and reishi. Most blends have 30–60 mg of caffeine per serving, about half a normal cup, and taste like a slightly earthy medium roast.
Does mushroom coffee actually work?
The lower caffeine works immediately if regular coffee makes you jittery. The mushrooms are a longer bet: the human trials used 1–4 g per day for weeks, and no coffee blend delivers that in a cup. We show the label dose next to the studied dose on every review so you can judge for yourself.
How do you test mushroom coffee?
Published assessments distinguish product specifications from documented tasting results. Brewlune has no documented tasting record and receives no score. Our assessment criteria are: taste, ingredient quality, label transparency, price per serving, third-party testing and mushroom dosage. We never accept free products or payment for reviews, and affiliate links never change a score.
Is there a pumpkin spice mushroom coffee for fall 2026?
Yes. RYZE sells a limited-edition Pumpkin Spice Latte at Target (about 50 mg caffeine, 1,000 mg of mushrooms, $1.80–2.00 a cup), MUD\WTR a caffeine-free Pumpkin Spice Latte with stated doses, and Laird Superfood a full-strength Pumpkin Spice Instant Latte. Four Sigmatic has no fall blend. Our fall 2026 guide compares all of them on price, caffeine and mushroom content.
Which mushroom coffee has the least caffeine?
Renude Chagaccino has none and Beyond Brew about 5 mg; MUD\WTR runs 35 mg from black tea. Among real coffees, Everyday Dose (45 mg), Lucid (45 mg), RYZE (48 mg) sit at roughly half a brewed cup. See our low-caffeine and decaf rankings.
Ready for a better morning?
Start with the ranking, pick by what you care about, and read the label-versus-research table before you buy.
#1 rated for 2026 — RYZE — $1.20/serving — see why →